Because Sometimes Living in a Tree Just Sounds Right

16 Feb

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Seriously, if it weren’t for the high cost of admission I would have figured out a way to live in the Swiss Family Robinson treehouse at Disneyland long ago.  But I’m willing to socialize too.  Set me up in an Ewok village or Lórien from LOTR (yes my geek is showing) and I’d be perfectly happy.

Really the thought of moving anywhere with the least bit of imagination would thrill me right now.  I’m supposed to be packing for my move to Mesa next week and ugh.  Ugh.  I don’t want to deal with it.  Moving to another depressing box.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I’ll be closer to my family.  I think.  I just hate dealing with moving in general.  I’m still not completely unpacked in my current  apartment after two years and the plan was to get something bigger so I had room for everything, but of course I’m ending up somewhere smaller instead. Finances and time and disappointment won out.  I think at some point during the process of searching I just gave up and said, fine…it’s a roof over my head, I’ll take it.  But no matter what I do, I can’t seem to make myself excited about it.  Any suggestions people?!  How do we make moving fun?

10 Responses to “Because Sometimes Living in a Tree Just Sounds Right”

  1. Genna Sarnak February 16, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    OMG! I love, love, LOVE these pictures! Especially of the one with the wrap-around stair case! How cool is that?! I want a tree house! LoL! All of those buildings are just incredible!

    I’m also a huge LoTR fan, so anything that reminds me of Lorien is favorable in my book! Thanks so much for sharing and I’m so glad you stopped by my blog and I was able to visit your blog in return! I can’t wait to read more! Keep in touch and great post! :)

    • Bex February 17, 2011 at 12:33 am #

      Hi Genna,

      Glad you like! I think I may have to marry me a man who can build a tree house. And ya know, has a tree. lol. I HAVE seen Step Brothers, but I’m trying to remember the end and I’m soo drawing a blank right now. Help?

      • Genna Sarnak February 17, 2011 at 10:36 am #

        LoL! If you find that man, please ask him if he has a twin brother that wants to date me! :) In the end of the movie, their dad/stepdad make a tree house in their backyard out of the boat they crashed! It looked pretty awesome as well! Here’s a picture I was able to find: http://mimg.ugo.com/201012/7/7/4/134477/cuts/boathouse_528x297.bmp. Pretty funny, thought it’s nowhere near as cool as the ones you posted!

      • Bex February 17, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

        Haha. That’s right!! And yes, I’ll keep a lookout for a tree-house building man with a twin brother.

  2. Genna Sarnak February 16, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to add, it also brought to mind the end of Step Brothers with Will Farrell! Hahah! Did you see that movie/know what I’m talking about? If not, I am so going to find a picture to show you! :)

  3. Carol February 18, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    I would love a tree house.

    No advice on moving – I hate it, even when it’s a good thing. Next time we move, I think I’m going on vacation for a week and making my husband do all the work.

    • Bex February 18, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

      Ooh that sounds like a good plan. I think I’m just going to stay here until I can hire someone to come do everything for me. Sooo….probably never moving again. Ha. Actually I have some wonderful people helping me out, I’m so grateful. Don’t know what I’d do without them. Probably run away. To a tree house!

  4. Carl V. February 24, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Lorien sounds like my kind of living! And these tree houses are fantastic. I bought a book of tree house images for a friend a few years ago and it is a lovely book. I think I recognize some of these from its pages.

    Sorry you are not making a move that excites you. Moving sucks even when the destination is an inspiring one. As for making moving fun? Well, you might want to search for cool places to visit, eat, shop, etc. in your new home town so that you can be looking forward to that. Maybe also see what kind of inexpensive day trip destinations are in the area so that you can look forward to getting out and about. You might also plan ahead for how you might decorate inexpensively with some new things rather than just moving all your current stuff and recreating your current living environment in a new location. Hope the move goes well for you despite your lack of enthusiasm about the place you are moving in to, and I hope you find a way to bring a little of the magic of Lorien into your new space.

    • Bex February 25, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      @Carl – Will have to look up that book, I would love to get lost in that!

      Thanks for the advice, I liked what you said about not just recreating my current environment and I am looking forward to exploring the area. Everything is in the new apt now but at a writers conference all weekend so don’t get to start really unpacking or living there till Monday. At least the stress of getting it done is over and I do have a cool patio on the 2nd floor. That’s kinda like a tree house. Right? lol.

  5. Carl V. February 26, 2011 at 6:54 am #

    Yes, that is exactly like a tree house! Or at least you could do some cool things with it and pretend. Here is a link to the book I was referencing:

    http://www.amazon.com/Treehouses-World-Pete-Nelson/dp/0810949520/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=1298728379&sr=8-9

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

