And She Shall Have Music…

12 May

This morning as I rolled out of bed to my desk to check my email, I looked out the window and noticed the postman standing on the sidewalk across the street dancing. Not just a little bit of a bounce….this guy had moves! Amused, I watched him for a moment, thinking to myself that I actually liked this song….then realizing, I hadn’t even noticed the music up until that point, it has become such a part of my life here.

Pretty much 24 hours a day I can hear music of some sort blaring up at me from the street. Most often it’s something with a deep unintelligible beat or the same two songs in spanish over and over and over and over….I’m on the fifth floor and when I say blaring I mean that I can close all the windows in my apartment, turn on the tv and still not drown it out.

It seems to be some sort of a custom in this neighborhood for people to park their cars along the sidewalk, open all the doors and windows, turn on the music and just have an impromptu party on the street with whoever happens to be walking by.

Now, I’m sure you are picturing ghetto cars, all dropped, decked out rims, trying-to-be-cool-mobiles. But no, normally they are Lexus’s, Infinities or BMW’s, plain as can be, which I’m sure go on to boring jobs at high tech companies downtown during the day and just live this incognito life as a streetsized boombox when they have nothing better to do.

Leave a Reply

