Where Have I Been?

19 Jan

I was listening to a podcast this morning about blogs, and felt entirely guilty for neglecting mine. But I was still shocked to log on and see exactly how long it had been since I had actually written anything on here. I suppose I can blame it on the Holidays, etc, but that’s only part of the story.

I had quite an adjustment period coming home from New York. It really is a different planet here. Every planet has it’s stresses, but both are very different and coming home from NY in and of itself was a stress bomb. Combine that with a period of being out of my medications, then not being able to get one approved and I spent a few months a bit depressed and anxious, so my apologies to all for that.

The news is not all bad, I spent alot of time catching up on films, reading and mulling over my writing and now that the med mix I’m currently on seems to be working, I’m writing like crazy and hope to be ready to submit my current book/screenplay within the next few months. I’ll hopefully be 2nd or 3rd drafted and looking for first readers in another month, so I’ll be looking for volunteers.

I’m also going to have to have a contest or something to figure out what to name the thing when it’s done, I’ve changed it about 12 times so far, so we’ll see. For those who keep asking what it’s about….the quick synopsis is that it’s a coming of age story about a family. But atypical in that all four of the main characters are going through this process at the same time. It’s a story about how far we will or won’t go to protect the people we love, and how easy it is to make mistakes with those we care about the most. The current title is The Butterfly Storm. The butterflies serve as a recurrent symbolism throughout the story for change and growth and I’m to the point where I’m so excited about writing it, I wake up and have to start. This morning it was 3:22am when I woke up and had an Idea I had to get down and I love that feeling.

Other than that, I’m adjusting to not having a vehicle in a city where they are a necessity, but am hoping to be able to get one sometime next month and rejoin the world of the non-homebound. I don’t know what I’ll do with myself then. Probably still stay at home and write, but at least I can leave if I want to.

I hope everyone had a blissfull holiday and new year. I don’t beleive in new year’s resolutions, but I do beleive in taking some time to look back at the past year, where I’ve been, where I’ve grown and stagnated. It’s been a great year for me overall….even though I figured out that the move to NY probably cost me around ten grand….I wouldn’t trade it for anything, I learned so much from the experience and the same can be said for being back home. It’s where I need to be now, and I just hope to look for little resolutions every day to get me where I need to be.

All my love,

Becki

Leave a Reply

