A Childs Laughter

30 Jan

Families are like fudge… mostly sweet with a few nuts.  ~Author Unknown

Pictures of my sister’s son Ryland and me hangin’ at the house.64975358_201380569_0_1

There is nothing more beautiful than a child’s laughter.  I love being able to make other people laugh…to make them forget just for a moment about their worries and their problems.  I think it takes them to that childlike carefree state where they are being protected and cared for and loved and nothing horrible in the world is going to happen to them.  As adults where does that place go? It is repressed for the most part and only coaxed out by large amounts of alcohol or the most skilled comedians or both.  I don’t however want to write pure comedy.  Because I also want to make people think…to inspire change.  So how do I find a balance between the two?  How do I write touching, thought-provoking pieces that also allow laughter and freedom…taking them to that child’s place where maybe they are more able to be receptive to my message and change?  When I write it seems to come out one way or the other, black or white.  I haven’t quite been able to infuse enough of myself into it yet.  I am naturally always trying to make people laugh…but much of that is through sarcasm which doesn’t exactly translate to the page as well as I would like.  It is about tone of voice and dependence upon the listeners understanding of your intent….and this is starting to sound like some scientific paper….what is that?

HMMM….I guess my true goal is to be real in my writing.  Not some stuck up, perfected version of myself.  I don’t think I’ve gotten there yet.  Maybe in my emails and instant messages I am closer…but I can judge the exchange…have constant feedback of how my audience is taking my words.  Maybe I just have to trust in myself more.

I’ll get there….laughing or crying all the way.  It will just take time and the commitment that I have.

Leave a Reply

