Are you keeping track?

4 Sep

I decided to do some research on the whole “trackback” phenomenon that seems to be a part of blogging I’m missing out on.  I can’t say that i’m missing out on too much, but I did find this explanation by Tom Coates which I loved even if the cool graphics did make me miss my Mac

I also found this explanation from Moveable Type informative:

  •  
    • Person A has written a post on his own weblog that comments on a post in Person B’s weblog. This is a form of remote comments–rather than posting the comment directly on Person B’s weblog, Person A posts it on his own weblog, then sends a TrackBack ping to notify Person B.
    • Person A has written a post on a topic that a group of people are interested in. This is a form of content aggregation–by sending a TrackBack ping to a central server, visitors can read all posts about that topic. For example, imagine a site which collects weblog posts about Justin Timberlake. Anyone interested in reading about JT could look at this site to keep updated on what other webloggers were saying about his new album, a photo shoot in a magazine, etc.

I’m still not sure I’m ready to go at it yet, but I would like to find a way to automatically track to postings I have everywhere else on the web. Here’s to nothing!

Leave a Reply

