Terror Alert: Wizard on Board

15 Sep

I’m not too sure what the world is coming to when the handwritten manuscript from the next and final Harry Potter book is deemed too dangerous to carry on a plane.  It seems Ms. Rowling had to beg airport security workers not to make her check the ONLY COPY of the very pricey manuscript and have it bound up in elastic bands before she was (luckily) allowed to board with it.  She talks about the incident on her website (which in case I haven’t mentioned before, you MUST visit) :

“The heightened security restrictions on the airlines in August made the journey back from New York interesting, as I refused to be parted from the manuscript of book seven (a large part of it is handwritten, and there was no copy of anything I had done while in the US). They let me take it on, thankfully, bound up in elastic bands. I don’t know what I would have done if they hadn’t; sailed home, probably.”

“I am currently trying to decide between two possible titles. I was quite happy with one of them until the other one struck me while I was taking a shower in New York. They would both be appropriate, so I think I’ll have to wait until I’m further into the book to decide which one works best.”

I just hope someday, I’m an important enough writer to have my priceless manuscript almost confiscated by airport security.  Ahh, a girl can only dream.

(Props to The Writers Blog for the tip-off on this story)

Leave a Reply

