On Admiring My Sister

1 Oct

The following is from my sister’s blog.  For anyone who doesn’t know, my sister is almost 10 years younger than me, and she’s been through alot.  In addition to dealing with addictions that took root at a very young age, she has already been through a difficult marriage, difficult delivery, and a constant battle to regain the trust of those she loves.  She has also seen many friends die from drug overdose.  Just this past week, another of her friends, a kid I had met on several occasions died of a heroin overdose.   I think this makes a total of 8 and she is only 21 years old.  At thirty, I haven’t lost a single friend to anything, so I can’t even imagine what that must be like.  It also gives you a glimpse of what it has been like for us over the past years, wondering if she would be the next one to die.

Today, her future is looking much more secure.  Things are not perfect, but to see her interacting with her son, smiling and laughing without any chemical help, talking openly about her addictions and attending meetings through the church is something I wouldn’t have thought possible just six months ago.  I’m so proud of her. 

For the first time in my life I feel like I have a semblance of what I’ve always wanted, a real relationship with her, and I just want to see her succeed so badly.  For the first time in a long time she has goals and dreams of things she wants to accompllish, and I want to help her with those goals.

She has even been an inspiration to me, reminding me of all the things I clung to for support not so long ago and awakening in me a desire to return in one way or another to that life.

Theresa, know that you are in my thoughts at all times and in every prayer.  So many people love you and want to see you succeed.  Your son loves you and he understands your struggles.  He is proud of you and so happy to have his “ma-ma” back.

I love you!

Quote

Life goes pretty smooth when you’re doing the right thing!
I definately have a lot to say about my life right now. I am so proud of myself for overcoming an addiction. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, and something that I struggled with for a very long time. But I am so proud to be the person that I am today! I haven’t been this happy in a long time. I have learned alot through this whole experience and probably the best thing is that I can be forgiven. I love that I can be a Mother again to my son Ryland and that when he looks at me I know in my heart that he loves me. What a great feeling. I truly do not understand what I was running from for so long, LIFE IS AMAZING!

One Response to “On Admiring My Sister”

  1. steppingoverthejunk October 9, 2008 at 12:10 pm #

    lovely. I love your part and her part. Good for both of you, you for your love of your sister and support and her for the strength she possesses and where she is now!

Leave a Reply

