Surviving Thanksgiving, almost…

24 Nov

Yesterday, for the first time in thirty-five years my mother did not cook a turkey for Thanksgiving.  Don’t get me wrong, the full course of stuffing, ham, sweet potatoes and pies accompanied the traditional bird…but for the first time ever, my mother wasn’t in charge. 

What a fabulous idea.  I love my mother and her cooking, but she tends to get a bit overly stressed and perfectionistic around the holidays, so when my cousin offered to host this year’s festivities at her house we all sighed a collective “Yes!”

I have to say it was one of the most enjoyable Thanksgivings I can remember.  I’m sure a bit of that had something to do with the expensive wine being passed around.  But more, there was a relaxed atmosphere….for the first time I can remember at a family gathering I didn’t feel rushed, in the way, lazy, or out of place.  I just had a good time.

Until…I woke up this morning with a horrible cold or something that I think I got from  my um ex-boyfriend…well we don’t need to go into that either. 

It just seems whenever we have family in town, I manage to get sick.  Most people insist that I’m always sick, and I almost have to agree, except there was that one day last week….

Nano, is going down the drain….between being sick, family in town, getting ready for the holidays early so I’m not stressed. (ha, ho, ho).  Let’s see 5 days left and I still haven’t broken 30,000 words.  Not impossible I suppose, but with the packed schedule we have until my brother and his family leave on Tuesday, not likely.

But that’s okay.  I accomplished alot, and I found an entirely new direction for the plot to go that I wasn’t expecting, but which gives it a strong theme and spine.  I’m very excited, but it’s going to take some more research as well…so I’ll have plenty to keep me busy.

One last note. In the spirit of Thanksgiving I just want to mention, because I don’t do it often enough; how grateful I am for the excessess I have in my life.  Excesses of love, of understanding, of support, and of friendship.   Thank you to those of you who have helped to make me who I am today and have allowed me to be a part of your lives.  Because that’s all that really matters in the end.

Leave a Reply

