Holiday Meltdown

20 Dec

Yesterday it finally happened.  3:45 in the afternoon and I was sitting in the kitchen crying because I couldn’t get my holiday newsletter’s to print, had no car and was supposed to be across town in ten minutes.

It was more than that really, needing to finish shopping, wrapping, baking, being behind on my writing and reading and (sorry to my poor blogcritics and mindspillers) and just wanting everything to be perfect and unable to make it so.

I managed to take a short nap and wake up with a much better attitude and by cancelling my meeting with my friend got the cards and newsletters done.

But gotta love my sister for trying everything she could think of to help me as I’m standing there freaking out.

Gotta love Holiday Stress. 

Here’s to 6 more days till normality!!

One Response to “Holiday Meltdown”

  1. heavenandheck December 21, 2006 at 8:46 am #

    I’ve begun to realize that as we grow up, every holiday is a chore! When we’re kids, all we do for the holidays is eat large quantities of yummy food and get presents! That’s when we grow to love Christmas and think that there couldn’t be anything better! Then we grow up. We start struggling with the hassles of travelling for visits, making purchases for our families and suddenly realising that the presents “Santa” brought actually cost a lot of money – money we frequently can’t spare. We deal with untangling our own lights and digging out, cleaning and putting up decorations, cutting down, putting up and watering the tree. We buy, prepare and serve several large meals for our own families and by the time we get through with it all, we’re often too exhausted to eat ourselves. Merry merry merry.

Leave a Reply

