Graveyard Book Review

9 Dec

My review of The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman is up at Aurelia (and Goodreads, and Librarything).

 

A sampling:

I have to admit, I was a little iffy with the first couple pages, thinking this was going to be straight-out horror story all the way through, but then it took a lovely shift into fanciful and it quickly became one I couldn’t put down.  If I was forced to draw one comparison between Gaiman’s other works, it would be that he seems to me to be at his best when he writes for a younger audience. He gives himself more room to play, and his sense of whimsy is fully-developed.

Check out the full review here:

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman.

3 Responses to “Graveyard Book Review”

  1. Redhead December 10, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Graveyard Book is wonderful. It’s a little creepy, a little scary, but certainly not horror. Might be a good book for a child who is learning to read to read to their parents a chapter at a time at bedtime!

    • Rebekah December 20, 2010 at 12:38 am #

      @Redhead. Yes, I agree, it’s wonderful. I actually picked it up and started reading it having no idea what it was about (or that it was a children’s book). Hence, the first couple of pages…which really are probably the scariest in the book, I found to be a bit shocking, but I’m so glad he didn’t continue down a gruesome path. I know other writers who would have. I think it would make a great bedtime chapter book! Sadly, I don’t have any nephews that age right now, and I’m afraid my niece would consider it a “boys book”. I’m hoping she’ll grow out of the girls only phase soon!

  2. Carl V. December 20, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    The Graveyard Book really is a wonderful story, isn’t it? I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I’ve heard of the ‘love him’, ‘leave him’ camps regarding Gaiman and while I don’t understand how anyone could not love his work, I firmly fit into the ‘love him’ category. Although Neverwhere will always be my favorite largely because it is the first novel of his I read, The Graveyard Book is the one I consider his best work to date.

Leave a Reply

