Where Are the Stars?

19 Jan
night sky

Image by Dave Young via Flickr

When you’re lying in bed at night looking up at the stars, don’t panic when you suddenly wonder “Where the Hell is the ceiling?!”

This quote reminded me of a couple of really beautiful scenes in the book I finished today. The one I can’t even write about yet because I’m rendered stilled, speechless by it. Hopefully tomorrow the words will come. For tonight, I can talk about the stars.

Granted.  For me, usually it’s the other way around.  I’m boxed in my room like a caged bird, staring up at the ceiling and wondering what happened to the stars.  I have to confess to missing the late night stargazing my friends and I used to do when we were younger and had the freedom to stay out all night, and drive out to the river or the lake and just watch the endless sky – a billion stars dancing about, daring me to catch them, name them, beg them for favors.

I still find myself utterly awestruck on clear nights up at the cabin in Vernon or the odd crystalline night in the valley.  They have  the power to stop me in my tracks, hold me prisoner for a time. There’s something calming, soothing about staring at the immensity of the night sky.  And something almost magical too.  A whole universe pregnant with possibilities that I can’t even begin to comprehend.

And oddly, that doesn’t scare me even a little bit.  It just puts me back in sync with that singular question that makes me feel like I’m safe and in my place in this world: It begs me to ask “What If?”

2 Responses to “Where Are the Stars?”

  1. Carl V. January 20, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Wonderful post! More than once I’ve posted on a similar topic because I too am awed when looking at the night sky. There is something so amazing about it. I don’t get out as much as I used to, although I never let too many days go by without at least stepping outside and saying “hello” to a few constellations: Orion chiefly as it is the easiest one for me to find without thinking.

    • Rebekah January 20, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      Thanks. You know, I used to know most of the major constellations, I even taught them to kids at one point, and though the stories have remained, where exactly they are in the sky has sort of shifted a bit in my memory. I don’t have enough nights with a clear view here to practice. So I just look for my own, make them up as I go along…and the sky now never tells the same story twice.

Leave a Reply

