Attack of the iPod Pixies

21 Jan
The iPod family with, from the left to the rig...

Image via Wikipedia

So, before I jumped in the shower today, I turned on my iPod that’s docked in the bathroom like I do every day.  I usually keep it on random and since there’s about 3500 songs on it, I never know exactly what I’m going to get.  But I was in a mood this afternoon, and I decided I needed a bit more of a kick, so I dialed over to my playlists and selected highest rated.  I’m pretty vigilant about rating my songs but admittedly I haven’t used this feature in a while.  I turned it up to full volume and was kind of stoked about hearing some old favs.

But instead…you heard me cursing.  “Who the hell hijacked my iPod!”

What a surreal shower that was.  My only explanation is that someone snuck in during the middle of the night and changed all my ratings.  Not only that, I don’t even remember most of these songs being placed there in the first place.  We’re talking a lot of cheesy disco, some classical (and not the composers I like), a few that were a screechy combination of country and folk, and some really foul-mouthed rap.  I was tempted to step out of the shower and drown the thing.  Sadly, I didn’t.  When I did get out I had to go through 54 songs to get to one I would have rated a 3.  Annoyance.

Obviously it’s time to go through it and clean a few things off, but these had to be songs I rated the lowest NOT the highest, right?  It’s not like anyone borrows the thing.  It’s not like there are kids or pets around to mess with it.  I seriously think it developed a mind of its own and decided to punish me for leaving it there in the bathroom and ignoring it most of the time.  (Well I can’t blame it for that, I’d be pretty annoyed too, were I in its shoes, or err dock.)

The Suspect. This suspicious little pixie was finger painted using an iPod touch. Cool, no? But, I'm pretty sure she used her evil magic to crawl through the interweb and attack my poor defenseless iPod when I wasn't looking. Beware of this face! Credit m1ll3r.

Either that, or the iPod pixies have finally found me, in which case if you don’t hear from me over the next few days, please do call for help!

Leave a Reply

